CRM Software Configuration - Move File Locations

How to Upgrade CRM Software Configuration to Move Files to a Different Location

Download CRM Software Free 60 day Trial
Download CRM Software Free 60 day Trial

CRM Testimonials

You may wish to change the location where Amphis Customer stores the database (customer.mdb), the Documents folder, Templates folder, Exports folder and Reports folder.

Perhaps you want to move the files to make your backups easier to manage by keeping all your files under one top level folder.

Or perhaps you want to store the files on a portable drive which you can access from your desktop or your laptop at home.

To do this, go to Tools->Folders->View Data Folder.

This folder stores the database file (customer.mdb) and also the subfolders for Documents, Templates, Exports and Reports.

If you want to store these files in a different location, first make sure you have a backup of all the files in these folders in case you delete anything by mistake.

Then Copy the files and folders to the new location. Don't delete any files or folders yet.

Then go to Tools->Configuration and click Change for each of the 5 sections (Database, Documents, etc) to change the location where Amphis Customer looks for the files. For the database, browse to the customer.mdb file. For the other 4 sections, you can just specify the folder location.

CRM Software Configuration

You can use the Test connection and Test permissions buttons to check that you can successfully access the files from the new location.

Click Save Changes to save the changes to the Configuration Database (config.mdb).

Note that the Configuration Database (config.mdb) must remain in the default location as Amphis Customer uses that to determine where the other files are. If the config.mdb file was removed, you would just need to replace it with the default one from our Downloads page and go into Tools->Configuration again.

If you have multiple PCs all connecting to a database in a shared folder, you can simply copy the config.mdb file from one PC to another as they will be identical on each PC once all the PCs are accessing the same shared folder. For more information on sharing data and documents between multiple users, see Share Data and Documents Between Multiple Users

If you want to reset the configuration back to the default settings, you would just need to replace config.mdb with the default one from our Downloads page.

Download CRM Software Free 60 Day Trial
Download CRM Software Free 60 Day Trial